Nona Balakian Citation for Excellence in Reviewing

The NBCC awards the Nona Balakian Citation for Excellence in Reviewing each year to recognize outstanding work by a member of the NBCC. The citation is awarded in honor of Nona Balakian, a founding member of the National Book Critics Circle, where she served as the board’s first secretary. The eminent critic and longtime editor at the New York Times Book Review also served on the Pulitzer Prize committee, the Board of Directors of PEN, and the Authors Guild board, was the author of Critical Encounters: Essays (1978), and co-author (with Charles Simmons) of The Creative Present (1969).

Since 2012, the Balakian Citation carries with it a $1,000 cash prize, thanks to a generous donation by NBCC board member Gregg Barrios.

A complete list of past Balakian winners follows the list of committee members.

2014 Submission Guidelines

You must be a member of the NBCC to be considered. If you are not a member, you can join online anytime before December 14, 2014, in order to be eligible for the award. All submitted reviews must have been published in 2014.

2014 Submission Procedures

Submissions may be made by email. Emails must be time stamped no later than midnight (PST) Sunday, December 14, 2014. Submissions may also, as in the past, be submitted in hardcopy by mail.

What to submit via email: 
Send up to five book reviews (all published in 2014) of no more than 5,000 words collectively. The total word count for the submissions must not exceed 5,000, on pain of the entire submission being disqualified from consideration for the award. 
In your email, include a note listing the venue; title and word count of each piece submitted. 
Send links to your reviews as published online. 

Due to the capricious nature of the online world, links may expire. If you can, attach PDFs or screenshots of your book reviews as they appeared online or in print. 
Please make a print backup of your submission. In other words, make sure you have one print copy of each book review, preferably the published version. If there is a problem with your electronic online submission, you may be asked to submit a print version.

What to submit via mail: 
Submissions must be postmarked no later than Sunday, December 14, 2014. Send up to five book reviews (all published in 2014) of no more than 5,000 words collectively, with a brief cover letter listing the title and word count of each piece submitted. The total word count for the submissions must not exceed 5,000, on pain of the entire submission being disqualified from consideration for the award.

For questions about the award and submission process, e-mail the Balakian Committee chair, Gregg Barrios. Email:

Please put Balakian Award in the subject line of your email.

Please submit all materials for the Nona Balakian Citation for Excellence in Reviewing to each individual member of the 2014 Balakian committee:

Mark Athitakis
3251 W. Frankfurt Dr.
Chandler, AZ 85226

Gregg Barrios
304 E Courtland Pl
San Antonio, TX 78212

Jane Ciabattari
730 Lisbon Court
Rohnert Park, CA 94928

Tom Beer
235 Pinelawn Rd.
Melville, NY 11747

Ron Charles
5208 Elsmere Ave.
Bethesda, MD 20814

Mary Ann Gwinn
Seattle Times 
7814 39th Avenue SW
Seattle, WA 98136

Eric Liebetrau
Kirkus Reviews
479 Old Carolina Court
Mt. Pleasant, SC 29464

Miriam Markowitz
The Nation
33 Irving Place, 8th floor
New York, NY 10003

Michael Miller
350 Seventh Avenue, 19th Fl
NY NY 10001
New York, NY 10001

Walton Muyumba
Indiana University, Bloomington 
Ballantine Hall 442
1020 E. Kirkwood Ave.
Bloomington, IN 47407

Past Recipients of the Citation for Excellence in Reviewing


Katherine A. Powers (Acceptance speech)


William Deresiewicz (William Deresiewicz Interview)


Kathryn Schulz (Critical Mass interview)


Parul Sehgal (Critical Mass interview | acceptance speech)


Joan Acocella


Ron Charles


Sam Anderson


Steven G. Kellman


Wyatt Mason


David Orr


Scott McLemee


Maureen N. McLane


Michael Gorra


Daniel Mendelsohn


Benjamin Schwarz


Albert Mobilio


Thomas Mallon


Dennis Drabelle


Laurie Stone


JoAnn Gutin


Brigitte Frase


Elizabeth Ward


George Scialabba


William Logan


Josh Rubins

Become a Friend of the NBCC

Awards Information

Videos and Podcasts

NBCC 2014 Awards Ceremony

Ben Fountain and Amy Tan at AWP with Jane Ciabattari

NBCC 2013 Finalists Reading

NBCC 2013 Awards Ceremony

NBCC Finalists Interviewed at The New School

Video: New Literary Journals

Video: The VIDA Count and Gender Bias in Book Reviewing

Podcast: What Is Criticism? NBCC Winners and Finalists at AWP

All videos and podcasts.


From the Critical Mass blog

Roundup: Ta-Nehisi Coates, WikiLeaks, Ivan Doig, Lucia Berlin, and More

Anjali Enjeti reviews Ta-Nehisi Coates’ Between the World and Me for the Minneapolis Star-Tribune. Anne Payne reviews Neal Stephenson’s novel

Second Call for New “Second Thoughts” Series

Second call for “Second Thoughts!” There’s still time to contribute to our upcoming series of reappraisals. To recap: we’re inviting members, as well

Fictional Florida, Voting Rights Act, Amitov Ghosh and Dragonfish

Florida might be regarded as Hemingway country, but in the Tampa Bay Times,  NBCC board member Colette Bancroft comes up with a look at the more than

What Are You Reading This Summer?

Recently, we asked authors, editors, and booksellers: "What are you reading (or hoping to read) this summer?"  I always keep an eye out for