February, 2008

NBCC at the AWP

by admin | Feb-06-2008

NBCC member Denise Low, who will be moderating an NBCC Good Reads panel later this month in Lawrence, Kansas, sent along this shot of the NBCC panel on the...read »

The NBCC’s Good Reads in Cambridge Tonight

by admin | Feb-06-2008

Over the next month, the National Book Critics Circle is hosting 15 events in 15 cities, from Washington, DC to Dallas, Philadelphia to Raleigh, Seattle and...read »

What Are You Recommending, Carmela Ciuraru?

by admin | Feb-06-2008

NBCC members and finalists and winners of the National Book Critics Circle book award were eligible to vote in the winter edition of the NBCC’s Good Reads....read »

Around the World with the NBCC’s Good Reads

by admin | Feb-06-2008

NBCC member Chuck Leddy reviews Drew Gilpin Faust’s “This Republic of Suffering,” which was at the top of the nonfiction long-list of the NBCC’s Good Reads in...read »

NBCC Awards Finalist in Biography: Arnold Rampersad’s “Ralph Ellison”

by admin | Feb-05-2008

This is the ninth in a series of blog posts by NBCC board members covering the finalists for the NBCC awards. The awards will be announced on March 6, 2008,...read »

The NBCC’s Good Reads—- Winter List

by admin | Feb-05-2008

LAST FALL, the NBCC introduced a Best Recommended List. Sure, there are plenty of lists out there, but it seemed few took advantage of the enormous (sometimes...read »

What Are You Recommending, Steven Pinker?

by admin | Feb-05-2008

The NBCC invited all the former finalists and winners of our book prize to vote in the winter edition of the NBCC’s Good Reads. Steven Pinker, whose book,...read »

Page 257 of 305 pages    ‹ First  < 255 256 257 258 259 >  Last ›

About the Critical Mass Blog

Commentary on literary criticism, publishing, writing, and all things NBCC related. It's written by independent members of the NBCC Board of Directors (see list of bloggers below).



Categories & Archives

Become a Friend of the NBCC

Upcoming Events

NBCC Finalists’ Reading: March 11th, 2015

NBCC Awards Ceremony and Reception: March 12th, 2015

NBCC at AWP with Anthony Marra and Alice McDermott: April 09th, 2015

NBCC Awards

See all award winners

Find out how to submit

Read how we select

Frequently Asked Questions

Awards news

Videos and Podcasts

Ben Fountain and Amy Tan at AWP with Jane Ciabattari

NBCC 2013 Finalists Reading

NBCC 2013 Awards Ceremony

NBCC Finalists Interviewed at The New School

Video: New Literary Journals

Video: The VIDA Count and Gender Bias in Book Reviewing

Podcast: What Is Criticism? NBCC Winners and Finalists at AWP

All videos and podcasts.

The postings on this blog represent the views and opinions of each individual poster and are not representative of views held by the National Book Critics Circle as an organization, or the NBCC board as a whole. Everything on this blog is copyright protected

Online Committee


Real Time Analytics