Countdown to March 17 NBCC Awards: Who Are the Finalists?

by Admin | Mar-02-2016

In January, the National Book Critics Circle board announced this year's Sandrof award for lifetime achievement, Balakian award for excellence in criticism, the John Leonard award for best first book, and 30 finalists in six awards categories. (All listed here.) The finalists are presented in the  30 Books in 30 Days series, written by NBCC board members and cross posted on The Literary Hub.

The finalists will read at the New School on March 16 at 6 pm. The awards ceremony is March 17 at 6 pm at the New School. Tickets for the fundraising after-party here.

About the Critical Mass Blog

Commentary on literary criticism, publishing, writing, and all things NBCC related. It's written by independent members of the NBCC Board of Directors (see list of bloggers below).



Categories & Archives

Become a Friend of the NBCC

Upcoming Events

NBCC at AWP18: March 09th, 2018

NBCC Finalists’ Reading: March 14th, 2018

NBCC Awards Ceremony and Reception: March 15th, 2018

NBCC Awards

Award Winners for 2016

See all award winners

Find out how to submit

Read how we select

Frequently Asked Questions

Videos and Podcasts

NBCC 2016 Awards Ceremony

NBCC 2015 Awards Ceremony

NBCC 2015 Finalists Reading

NBCC 2014 Awards Ceremony

NBCC 2013 Awards Ceremony

NBCC 2013 Finalists Reading

Video: New Literary Journals

Video: The VIDA Count and Gender Bias in Book Reviewing

Podcast: What Is Criticism? NBCC Winners and Finalists at AWP

All videos and podcasts.