Louise Gluck, Brigit Pegeen Kelly, Honored by Academy of American Poets

by admin | Sep-03-2008

Louise Gluck, whose “The Triumph of Achilles” (1985) won the National Book Critics Circle Award for poetry,has been awarded the $100,000 Wallace Stevens from the Academy of American Poets. Previous recipients include W. S. Merwin, James Tate, Adrienne Rich, A. R. Ammons, Frank Bidart, John Ashbery, Richard Wilbur, Mark Strand, Gerald Stern, Michael Palmer, and Charles Simic.

Brigit Pegeen Kelly, whose “The Orchard” was a finalist for the 2004 NBCC poetry award, has won the $25,000 Academy Fellowship. Former fellows include Gwendolyn Brooks, E. E. Cummings, Robert Frost, William Carlos Williams, Elizabeth Bishop, Marianne Moore, Denise Levertov, Robert Hayden, and more recently Lyn Hejinian, Adrienne Rich, Jay Wright, and Claudia Rankine.

About the Critical Mass Blog

Commentary on literary criticism, publishing, writing, and all things NBCC related. It's written by independent members of the NBCC Board of Directors (see list of bloggers below).


Categories & Archives

Become a Member of the NBCC

NBCC Awards

Finalists for 2017

See all award winners

Find out how to submit

Read how we select

Frequently Asked Questions

Upcoming Events

NBCC Finalists’ Reading: March 13th, 2019

NBCC Awards Ceremony and Reception: March 14th, 2019

NBCC at AWP19 with Paul Beatty and Joan Silber: March 28th, 2019

NBCC at AWP19 The Future of Criticism: A Conversation with Established and Emerging Critics: March 30th, 2019

Videos and Podcasts

NBCC 2017 Awards Ceremony

NBCC 2017 Finalists Reading

All videos and podcasts.