Announcing the Results of This Year’s Board Election

by Barbara Hoffert | Feb-04-2009

We are pleased to announce the results of this year’s board election for the National Book Critics Circle, which was almost as exciting as the U.S. presidential election and probably a lot more carefully counted. Congratulations are due to the following NBCC members elected to the board:

Jane Ciabattari, current NBCC president and a freelance writer/critic
Mary Ann Gwinn, current NBCC VP/newswire editor and book editor of the Seattle Times
Steve Kellman, 2006 winner of the Nona Balakian Citation for Excellence in Reviewing
Karen Long, book editor of the Cleveland Plain Dealer
Laurie Muchnick, book editor of Bloomberg News
John Reed, books editor of the Brooklyn Rail
Carlin Romano, current board member and literary critic of the Philadelphia Inquirer
Craig Teicher, poetry editor of Publisher’s Weekly

Thanks to all who ran for their willingness to contribute to the ongoing efforts of the NBCC.

About the Critical Mass Blog

Commentary on literary criticism, publishing, writing, and all things NBCC related. It's written by independent members of the NBCC Board of Directors (see list of bloggers below).


Categories & Archives

Become a Member of the NBCC

NBCC Awards

Finalists for 2017

See all award winners

Find out how to submit

Read how we select

Frequently Asked Questions

Videos and Podcasts

NBCC 2017 Awards Ceremony

NBCC 2017 Finalists Reading

All videos and podcasts.