Applications now being accepted for the 2010 Nona Balakian Citation for Excellence in Reviewing

by Jane Ciabattari | Oct-20-2010

The National Book Critics Circle invites its members to make submissions for the 2010 Nona Balakian Citation for Excellence in Reviewing. The award is given each year in honor of Nona Balakian, a founding member of the National Book Critics Circle, where she served as the board's first secretary. The eminent critic and longtime editor at the New York Times Book Review also served on the Pulitzer Prize committee, the Board of Directors of PEN, and the Authors Guild board, was the author of Critical Encounters: Essays (1978), and co- wrote The Creative Present (1969) with Charles Simmons. She died in 1991.

Previous winners of the citation include Joan Acocella, Daniel Mendelsohn, Thomas Mallon, Maureen McLane, Steven G. Kellman, Laurie Stone, Scott McLemee, Albert Mobilio, JoAnn Gutin, David Orr, Elizabeth Ward, George Scialabba, and Ron Charles.

Submission Requirements: You must be a member of the NBCC to be considered. If you are not a member, you can join online anytime before December 31, 2010, in order to be eligible for the award. All submitted reviews must have been published in 2010.

Submission Procedures: Submissions must be postmarked no later than Thursday, December 31, 2010. Send up to five book reviews (all published in 2010) of no more than 5,000 words collectively, to each of the board members below. Include a brief cover letter listing the title and word count of each piece submitted. The total word count for the submissions must not exceed 5,000, on pain of the entire submission being disqualified from consideration for the award.

Scott McLemee, Chair
1711 Mass Ave, NW, #321
Washington, DC 20036

David Biespiel
4232 SE Hawthorne Boulevard
Portland, Oregon 97215

Stephen Burt
Harvard University
Dept of English
Barker Center
12 Quincy St
Cambridge MA 02138

Jane Ciabattari
36 West 75th Street, 5A
New York, NY 10023

Barbara Hoffert
c/o Library Journal
160 Varick Street
New York, NY 10013

Steve Kellman
302 Fawn Drive
San Antonio, TX 78231-1519

Carolyn Kellogg
730 1/2 East Edgeware Rd.
Los Angeles, CA 90026

Laurie Muchnick
c/o Bloomberg News 
731 Lexington Avenue
New York, NY 10022

Carlin Romano
3620 Walnut Street
Philadelphia, Pa. 19104

Elizabeth Taylor
c/o Chicago Tribune
435 N. Michigan Ave.
Chicago, IL 60611

David Ulin
1089 South Genesee Ave
Los Angeles, CA 90019

Art Winslow
1014 Wheaton
Kalamazoo, MI 49008

About the Critical Mass Blog

Commentary on literary criticism, publishing, writing, and all things NBCC related. It's written by independent members of the NBCC Board of Directors (see list of bloggers below).


Categories & Archives

Become a Member of the NBCC

NBCC Awards

Finalists for 2017

See all award winners

Find out how to submit

Read how we select

Frequently Asked Questions

Upcoming Events

NBCC Finalists’ Reading: March 13th, 2019

NBCC Awards Ceremony and Reception: March 14th, 2019

NBCC at AWP19 with Paul Beatty and Joan Silber: March 28th, 2019

NBCC at AWP19 The Future of Criticism: A Conversation with Established and Emerging Critics: March 30th, 2019

Videos and Podcasts

NBCC 2017 Awards Ceremony

NBCC 2017 Finalists Reading

All videos and podcasts.