National Book Critics Circle at the AWP February 4, 2011

by Jane Ciabattari | Jan-24-2011

February 04, 2011 1:30 pm- 2:45 pm

Lobby Level, Marriott, Marriott Ballroom

Marriott Wardman Park & Omni Shoreham Hotels

Washington, D.C.

NBCC President Jane Ciabattari hosts a featured fiction reading at the annual AWP conference in Washington, D.C., with  NBCC award winners and finalists Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, Edward P. Jones, Jayne Anne Phillips, Elizabeth Strout, and Colson Whitehead. Their work evokes a geographic range from Maine to Brooklyn, Virginia and West Virginia.

Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie was born in Nigeria and is the author of the novels Purple Hibiscus (2003) and Half of a Yellow Sun (2006), which was a National Book Critics Circle finalists in fiction, and the story collection The Thing around Your Neck (2009). She also has the Orange Broadband Prize for Fiction (2007) and a MacArthur Foundation Fellowship (2008).

Edward P. Jones is author of The Known World (National Book Critics Circle Award in Fiction, Pulitzer in Fiction) and the short story collections Lost in the City (PEN/Hemingway award) and All Aunt Hagar's Children. He also is a recipient of a MacArthur "genius" grant and the PEN/Malamud award. He lives in Washington, D.C.

Jayne Anne Phillips is author of two National Book Critics Circle fiction finalists, Machine Dreams and Lark and Termite. Her story collection Black Tickets won the Sue Kaufman prize for first fiction. She directs the MFA program at Rutgers-Newark.

Elizabeth Strout is the author of Olive Kitteridge, a novel in stories, which was a finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award and won the Pulitzer Prize in fiction, and two previous novels, Abide with Me and Amy and Isabelle.

Colson Whitehead's  four novels include The Intuitionist, Sag Harbor, and John Henry Days, a finalist for the 2001 National Book Critics Circle Award, the Los Angeles Times Fiction Award, and the Pulitzer Prize, and winner of the Anisfield-Wolf Book Award. He is recipient of Whiting and MacArthur awards.

About the Critical Mass Blog

Commentary on literary criticism, publishing, writing, and all things NBCC related. It's written by independent members of the NBCC Board of Directors (see list of bloggers below).



Categories & Archives

Become a Friend of the NBCC

Upcoming Events

NBCC at AWP18: March 09th, 2018

NBCC Finalists’ Reading: March 14th, 2018

NBCC Awards Ceremony and Reception: March 15th, 2018

NBCC Awards

Award Winners for 2016

See all award winners

Find out how to submit

Read how we select

Frequently Asked Questions

Videos and Podcasts

NBCC 2016 Awards Ceremony

NBCC 2015 Awards Ceremony

NBCC 2015 Finalists Reading

NBCC 2014 Awards Ceremony

NBCC 2013 Awards Ceremony

NBCC 2013 Finalists Reading

Video: New Literary Journals

Video: The VIDA Count and Gender Bias in Book Reviewing

Podcast: What Is Criticism? NBCC Winners and Finalists at AWP

All videos and podcasts.