NBCC Awards Week: Finalists Read Wednesday, Awards Ceremony Thursday plus After Party

by Jane Ciabattari | Mar-08-2015

A reading by this year's NBCC finalists' will be held on March 11, at 6:00 p.m. at the New School's Tishman Auditorium.

Winners of the National Book Critics Circle awards will be announced on Thursday, March 12, 2015 at 6:00 p.m. at the New School's Tishman Auditorium.  The Sandrof award for lifetime achievement will be presented to Toni Morrison (introduced by Rita Dove). The John Leonard award for best first book will be presented to Phil Klay for "Redeployment." And the Balakian award for excellence in reviewing goes to Alexandra Schwartz for her review in The Nation.

Both events are free and open to the public. For tickets to the benefit after-party, the NBCC's only fundraiser, click here. (Tickets $75; $50 for NBCC members in advance.) Become a "Friend of the NBCC" to receive weekly news, reviews, events announcements here.

About the Critical Mass Blog

Commentary on literary criticism, publishing, writing, and all things NBCC related. It's written by independent members of the NBCC Board of Directors (see list of bloggers below).



Categories & Archives

Become a Friend of the NBCC

Upcoming Events

NBCC at AWP18: March 09th, 2018

NBCC Finalists’ Reading: March 14th, 2018

NBCC Awards Ceremony and Reception: March 15th, 2018

NBCC Awards

Award Winners for 2016

See all award winners

Find out how to submit

Read how we select

Frequently Asked Questions

Videos and Podcasts

NBCC 2016 Awards Ceremony

NBCC 2015 Awards Ceremony

NBCC 2015 Finalists Reading

NBCC 2014 Awards Ceremony

NBCC 2013 Awards Ceremony

NBCC 2013 Finalists Reading

Video: New Literary Journals

Video: The VIDA Count and Gender Bias in Book Reviewing

Podcast: What Is Criticism? NBCC Winners and Finalists at AWP

All videos and podcasts.