NBCC Reads: Colette Bancroft Picks A. Scott Berg’s ‘Max Perkins’

by Colette Bancroft | Oct-31-2013

What is your favorite National Book Critics Circle finalist of all time? The first NBCC winners, honored in 1975 for books published in 1974, were E.L. Doctorow (Ragtime, fiction), John Ashbery (Self-Portrait in a Convex Mirror, poetry), R.W.B. Lewis for his biography of Edith Wharton, and Paul Fussell (The Great War and Modern Memory, criticism). In 2014 the National Book Critics Circle prepares to celebrate nearly forty years of the best work selected by the critics themselves, and also to launch the new John Leonard award for first book. So we're looking back at the winners and finalists, all archived on our website, and we've asked our members and former honorees to pick a favorite. Here's the eleventh of dozens of choices in our latest in six years of NBCC Reads surveys.

It's impossible to pick a single favorite from this list. But one book stands out as having made an impression on me that is vivid more than three decades later: A. Scott Berg's "Max Perkins: Editor of Genius," a finalist for general nonfiction in 1978. The book is not just an intelligent, revelatory biography of an extraordinary and influential literary figure, although it's certainly that. Its depiction of Perkins' relationships with F. Scott Fitzgerald, Ernest Hemingway, Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings, Thomas Wolfe and other authors changed my ideas about how writers work with editors, and how essential that collaboration can be to the creation of enduring literature.

Colette Bancroft is a National Book Critics Circle board member and book editor of the St. Petersburg Times.

About the Critical Mass Blog

Commentary on literary criticism, publishing, writing, and all things NBCC related. It's written by independent members of the NBCC Board of Directors (see list of bloggers below).



Categories & Archives

Become a Friend of the NBCC

Upcoming Events

NBCC at AWP18: March 09th, 2018

NBCC Finalists’ Reading: March 14th, 2018

NBCC Awards Ceremony and Reception: March 15th, 2018

NBCC Awards

Award Winners for 2016

See all award winners

Find out how to submit

Read how we select

Frequently Asked Questions

Videos and Podcasts

NBCC 2016 Awards Ceremony

NBCC 2015 Awards Ceremony

NBCC 2015 Finalists Reading

NBCC 2014 Awards Ceremony

NBCC 2013 Awards Ceremony

NBCC 2013 Finalists Reading

Video: New Literary Journals

Video: The VIDA Count and Gender Bias in Book Reviewing

Podcast: What Is Criticism? NBCC Winners and Finalists at AWP

All videos and podcasts.