NBCC Awards Week, March 8-10, 2011

by Jane Ciabattari | Feb-18-2011

National Book Critics Circle Awards Week, March 2011:

March 8, 2011 7 pm

NBCC Finalists in Conversation. Free and open to the public.

March 8, 7 pm, Elebash Recital Hall, The Graduate Center, CUNY, 365 Fifth Avenue, New York (between 34th and 35th Streets)

NBCC biography and autobiography finalists in conversation with biography committee chair Eric Banks and autobiography committee cochair Rigoberto González: With biography finalists Sarah Bakewell, Yunte Huang, and Tom Powers, autobiography finalists Kai Bird, Darin Strauss, Patti Smith and Reiko Rehna Rizzuto. Hosted by Brenda Wineapple.

NBCC Finalists in Conversation. Free and open to the public.

March 8, 7 pm, Regina Peruggi Room, Marymount Manhattan College, 221 E. 71st Street, New York

NBCC nonfiction and criticism finalists in conversation with nonfiction committee chair Art Winslow and criticism committee chair John Reed: With nonfiction finalists Siddhartha Mukherjee and Isabel Wilkerson, criticism finalists Clare Cavanagh, Susie Linfield, and Ander Monson, and others. Hosted by Jerry Williams.

March 9, NBCC finalists reading, 6 pm. The New School, 66 West 12th Street, New York

Readers include: fiction finalists Jennifer Egan, Jonathan Franzen, David Grossman, translator Damion Searles reading for Hans Keilson, and Donna Tartt reading for Paul Murray; biography finalists Sarah Bakewell, Yunte Huang, and Thomas Powers; criticism finalists Elif Batuman, Terry Castle, Clare Cavanagh, Susie Linfield, and Ander Monson; nonfiction finalists S.C. Gwynne, Siddhartha Mukherjee, and Isabel Wilkerson; autobiography finalists Kai Bird, Christopher Hitchens, Rahna Reiko Rizzuto, Darin Strauss, and Patti Smith; poetry finalists Anne Carson, Kathleen Graber, Terrance Hayes, and Kay Ryan.

March 10, NBCC awards ceremony, 6 pm. The New School, 66 West 12th St, New York

The Awards Ceremony is free and open to the public. 

This year's awards ceremony includes William Gass introducing Sandrof Lifetime Achievement winner Dalkey Archive Press, Nona Balakian Citation for Excellence in Reviewing honoree Parul Sehgal, and the winners of the NBCC awards (to be decided by the NBCC 24-person board on the afternoon of March 10). A full list of the finalists can be found here.

Tickets to the reception to follow the awards are available for $45. The reception will be held on the second floor of the Lang Center, 55 West 13th Street. To purchase tickets in advance, click here.



About the Critical Mass Blog

Commentary on literary criticism, publishing, writing, and all things NBCC related. It's written by independent members of the NBCC Board of Directors (see list of bloggers below).


Categories & Archives

Become a Member of the NBCC

NBCC Awards

Finalists for 2017

See all award winners

Find out how to submit

Read how we select

Frequently Asked Questions

Upcoming Events

NBCC Finalists’ Reading: March 13th, 2019

NBCC Awards Ceremony and Reception: March 14th, 2019

NBCC at AWP19 with Paul Beatty and Joan Silber: March 28th, 2019

NBCC at AWP19 The Future of Criticism: A Conversation with Established and Emerging Critics: March 30th, 2019

Videos and Podcasts

NBCC 2017 Awards Ceremony

NBCC 2017 Finalists Reading

All videos and podcasts.