Reminder—NBCC Finalists Announcement and Reception 7 PM Saturday

by Eric Banks | Jan-21-2010

Please join the NBCC in New York on Saturday for the announcement of finalists for the NBCC awards in autobiography, biography, criticism, fiction, nonfiction and poetry, and the winners of the Sandrof award for lifetime achievement and the Balakian award for criticism. The announcement will be held at Housing Works Bookstore Café, 126 Crosby Street, New York, at 7 PM

Special guest announcers: Anthony Appiah, President, PEN American Center, 2008 Sandrof award winner will announce the Sandrof award; Balakian winner Albert Mobilio will announce this year's Balakian award. Annoucing the finalists in respective categories will be: 2008 fiction finalist Elizabeth Strout; 2008 autobiography/memoirs winner Ariel Sabar; 1999 biography finalist Jean Strouse; 1997 and 2008 finalist in criticism Vivian Gornick; 2008 poetry finalist Brenda Shaughnessy; and 2000 nonfiction winner Ted Conover.

And if you can't join us in person, you can follow us in real time on Twitter ( as the finalists are announced.

About the Critical Mass Blog

Commentary on literary criticism, publishing, writing, and all things NBCC related. It's written by independent members of the NBCC Board of Directors (see list of bloggers below).



Categories & Archives

Become a Friend of the NBCC

Upcoming Events

NBCC at AWP18: March 09th, 2018

NBCC Finalists’ Reading: March 14th, 2018

NBCC Awards Ceremony and Reception: March 15th, 2018

NBCC Awards

Award Winners for 2016

See all award winners

Find out how to submit

Read how we select

Frequently Asked Questions

Videos and Podcasts

NBCC 2016 Awards Ceremony

NBCC 2015 Awards Ceremony

NBCC 2015 Finalists Reading

NBCC 2014 Awards Ceremony

NBCC 2013 Awards Ceremony

NBCC 2013 Finalists Reading

Video: New Literary Journals

Video: The VIDA Count and Gender Bias in Book Reviewing

Podcast: What Is Criticism? NBCC Winners and Finalists at AWP

All videos and podcasts.