Roundup: Aatish Taseer, Leah Hager Cohen, Yannick Murphy, more

by Mark Athitakis (membership) | Sep-19-2011

Parul Sehgal, winner of the 2011 Balakian award, reviews Aatish Taseer’s Noon for the New York Times Book Review and Paul Hendrickson’s biography Hemingway’s Boat for the Cleveland Plain Dealer.

Laura Collins-Hughes reviews Leah Hager Cohen’s novel The Grief of Others for the Boston Globe.

Michael Lindgren reviews Yannick Murphy’s novel The Call for the Washington Post.

Jim Carmin reviews Peter Smith’s memoir A Cavalcade of Lesser Horrors in the Minneapolis Star Tribune.

Carolyn Kellogg reviews Chris Colin’s memoir Blindsight for the Los Angeles Times.

Stephen Burt reviews Vincenz Serrano’s poem “Static” for New Poetries.

Starting next month, NBCC board member David Haglund will help run Brow Beat, Slate’s culture blog.

Your reviews and recommendations help seed these roundups: If you’re an NBCC member with a review you’d like considered for inclusion, please email You can also get our attention by using the Twitter hashtag #nbcc, posting on the wall of our Facebook page, or joining our members-only LinkedIn group.

About the Critical Mass Blog

Commentary on literary criticism, publishing, writing, and all things NBCC related. It's written by independent members of the NBCC Board of Directors (see list of bloggers below).


Categories & Archives

Become a Member of the NBCC

NBCC Awards

Finalists for 2017

See all award winners

Find out how to submit

Read how we select

Frequently Asked Questions

Upcoming Events

NBCC Finalists’ Reading: March 13th, 2019

NBCC Awards Ceremony and Reception: March 14th, 2019

NBCC at AWP19 with Paul Beatty and Joan Silber: March 28th, 2019

NBCC at AWP19 The Future of Criticism: A Conversation with Established and Emerging Critics: March 30th, 2019

Videos and Podcasts

NBCC 2017 Awards Ceremony

NBCC 2017 Finalists Reading

All videos and podcasts.