Video: National Book Critics Circle Award Ceremony for Publishing Year 2011

by David Varno | Mar-09-2012

March 8, 2012 at Tishman Auditorium, The New School, New York, NY

Video courtesy of Chelsey Philpot

Welcome from Robert Polito, Director of Writing Programs at The New School, and introduction by Eric Banks, NBCC President.

Nona Balakian Citation for Excellence in Reviewing presented by Carolyn Kellogg to Kathryn Schulz

Ivan Sandrof Lifetime Achievement Award presented to Robert B. Silvers, introduced by Steven G. Kellman and Daniel Mendelsohn

Poetry award presented by Craig Morgan Teicher to Laura Kasischke for Space, in Chains (Copper Canyon Press)

Criticism award presented by Carlin Romano to Geoff Dyer for Otherwise Known as the Human Condition: Selected Essays and Reviews (Graywolf Press)

Autobiography award presented by Rigoberto Gonzalez to Mira Bartók for The Memory Palace: A Memoir (Free Press)

Biography award presented by Benjamin Moser to John Lewis Gaddis for George F. Kennan: An American Life (Penguin Press)

Nonfiction award presented by Karen Long to Maya Jasanoff for Liberty’s Exiles: American Loyalists in the Revolutionary World (Knopf)

Fiction award presented by Laurie Muchnick to Edith Pearlman for Binocular Vision: New & Selected Stories (Lookout Books)

About the Critical Mass Blog

Commentary on literary criticism, publishing, writing, and all things NBCC related. It's written by independent members of the NBCC Board of Directors (see list of bloggers below).


Categories & Archives

Make a tax deductible donation to the NBCC Join the NBCC/Renew
Emerging Critics

NBCC Awards

Finalists for 2018

See all award winners

Find out how to submit

Read how we select

Frequently Asked Questions

Videos and Podcasts

NBCC 2018 Awards Ceremony

NBCC 2017 Awards Ceremony

NBCC 2017 Finalists Reading

All videos and podcasts.