Video: NBCC 2013 Awards Ceremony

by admin | Mar-15-2014

Video by Kevin Kino.

Luis Jaramillo welcomes the NBCC to the New School for the 2013 Awards Ceremony, followed by an introduction from Laurie Muchnick.

Carolyn Kellogg introduces Sue Leonard, who presents the inaugural John Leonard Award to Anthony Marra.

Gregg Barrios presents Nona Balakian Citation for Excellence in Reviewing to Katherine A. Powers.

Steven G. Kellman introduces Dagoberto Gilb, who presents the Ivan Sandrof Lifetime Achievement Award to Rolando Hinojosa-Smith.

Poetry award presented by David Biespiel to Frank Bidart for “Metaphysical Dog” (Farrar, Straus & Giroux)

Criticism award presented by Eric Banks to Franco Moretti for “Distant Reading” (Verso)

Autobiography award presented by David Ulin to Amy Wilentz for “Farewell, Fred Voodoo: A Letter From Haiti” (Simon & Schuster)

Biography award presented by Karen Long to Leo Damrosch for “Jonathan Swift: His Life and His World” (Yale University Press)

Nonfiction award presented by Elizabeth Taylor to Sheri Fink for “Five Days at Memorial: Life and Death in a Storm-Ravaged Hospital” (Crown)

Fiction award presented by Mark Athitakis to Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie for “Americanah” (Knopf)

See more on the winners here.

About the Critical Mass Blog

Commentary on literary criticism, publishing, writing, and all things NBCC related. It's written by independent members of the NBCC Board of Directors (see list of bloggers below).


Categories & Archives

Tickets for Benefit Reception

Following the Awards Ceremony, March 14, 2019
Become a Member of the NBCC

NBCC Awards

Finalists for 2018

See all award winners

Find out how to submit

Read how we select

Frequently Asked Questions

Upcoming Events

NBCC Finalists’ Reading: March 13th, 2019

NBCC Awards Ceremony and Reception: March 14th, 2019

NBCC at AWP19 with Paul Beatty and Joan Silber: March 28th, 2019

NBCC at AWP19 The Future of Criticism: A Conversation with Established and Emerging Critics: March 30th, 2019

Videos and Podcasts

NBCC 2017 Awards Ceremony

NBCC 2017 Finalists Reading

All videos and podcasts.