Video: NBCC 2015 Awards Ceremony

by David Varno | Mar-19-2016

Video by Kevin Kino

In Order of Appearance

Welcome: Luis Jaramillo, Director, The New School Writing Program

Opening Remarks: Tom Beer, President, National Book Critics Circle

John Leonard Prize: Kirstin Valdez Quade, “Night at the Fiestas” (W.W. Norton), presented by Jane Ciabattari

Nona Balakian Citation for Excellence in Reviewing: Carlos Lozada, presented by Gregg Barrios

Ivan Sandrof Lifetime Achievement Award: Wendell Berry, presented by David Biespiel with introduction by Nick Offerman

Poetry: Ross Gay, “Catalogue of Unabashed Gratitude” (University of Pittsburgh Press), presented by Tess Taylor

Criticism: Maggie Nelson, “The Argonauts” (Graywolf), presented by Walton Muyumba

Autobiography: Margo Jefferson “Negroland” (Pantheon), presented by Joanna Scutts

Biography: Charlotte Gordon, “Romantic Outlaws: The Extraordinary Lives of Mary Wollstonecraft and Her Daughter Mary Shelley” (Random House), presented by Elizabeth Taylor

Nonfiction: Sam Quinones, “Dreamland: The True Story of America’s Opiate Epidemic” (Bloomsbury), presented by Karen Long

Fiction: Paul Beatty, “The Sellout” (Farrar, Straus and Giroux), presented by Carolyn Kellogg

About the Critical Mass Blog

Commentary on literary criticism, publishing, writing, and all things NBCC related. It's written by independent members of the NBCC Board of Directors (see list of bloggers below).



Categories & Archives

Become a Friend of the NBCC

NBCC Awards

Award Winners for 2016

See all award winners

Find out how to submit

Read how we select

Frequently Asked Questions

Videos and Podcasts

NBCC 2016 Awards Ceremony

NBCC 2015 Awards Ceremony

NBCC 2015 Finalists Reading

NBCC 2014 Awards Ceremony

NBCC 2013 Awards Ceremony

NBCC 2013 Finalists Reading

Video: New Literary Journals

Video: The VIDA Count and Gender Bias in Book Reviewing

Podcast: What Is Criticism? NBCC Winners and Finalists at AWP

All videos and podcasts.