Video: NBCC Awards Ceremony for Award Year 2017

by David Varno | Mar-24-2018

March 15, 2018, The New School, New York, NY

Welcome: Luis Jaramillo, Interim Director, The New School Writing Program 

Opening Remarks: Kate Tuttle, President, National Book Critics Circle

John Leonard Prize: Carmen Maria Machado, Her Body and Other Parties (Graywolf) 

Introduced by Daniel Akst

Nona Balakian Citation for Excellence in Reviewing: Charles Finch 

Introduced by Katherine A. Powers

Ivan Sandrof Lifetime Achievement Award: John McPhee 

Introduced by Michael Schaub and Stacey Vanek Smith


Layli Long Soldier, Whereas (Graywolf)

Introduced by Tess Taylor


Carina Chocano, You Play the Girl: On Playboy Bunnies, Stepford Wives, Train Wrecks, & Other Mixed Messages (Mariner) Edwidge Danticat, The Art of Death: Writing the Final Story (Graywolf)

Introduced by Carlin Romano


Xiaolu Guo, Nine Continents: A Memoir In and Out of China (Grove)

Introduced by Laurie Hertzel


Caroline Fraser, Prairie Fires: The American Dreams of Laura Ingalls Wilder (Metropolitan Books) 

Introduced by Elizabeth Taylor


Frances FitzGerald, The Evangelicals: The Struggle to Shape America (Simon & Schuster)

Introduced by Mary Ann Gwinn

Joan Silber, Improvement (Counterpoint)

Introduced by Tom Beer

About the Critical Mass Blog

Commentary on literary criticism, publishing, writing, and all things NBCC related. It's written by independent members of the NBCC Board of Directors (see list of bloggers below).


Categories & Archives

Make a tax deductible donation to the NBCC Join the NBCC/Renew
Emerging Critics

NBCC Awards

Finalists for 2018

See all award winners

Find out how to submit

Read how we select

Frequently Asked Questions

Videos and Podcasts

NBCC 2018 Awards Ceremony

NBCC 2017 Awards Ceremony

NBCC 2017 Finalists Reading

All videos and podcasts.