April, 2012


by Mark Athtitakis | Apr-10-2012

From left: Jane Smiley, Bonnie Jo Campbell, Jane Ciabattari, Jennifer Egan, Darin Strauss, Isabel Wilkerson (Credit: Robb Cohen Photography and the...read »

March, 2012

New Jobs for Tree Swenson, Carole Goldberg, Christine Thomas

by Jane Ciabattari | Mar-07-2012

Congratulations to NBCC members with new jobs/blogs/columns! Tree Swenson, who has been the Executive Director of the Academy of American Poets for the...read »

February, 2012

Roxana Robinson, Susan Shapiro, Tim W. Brown, Daniela Gioseffi, Bella Stander Events

by Jane Ciabattari | Feb-24-2012

NBCC member events: Roxana Robinson organized a reading of The House of Mirth, to celebrate Edith Wharton’s 150th birthday, at the Center for Fiction on...read »

NBCC Celebrates Our Award-winning Writers at the AWP in Chicago, March 2, 2012

by Jane Ciabattari | Feb-11-2012

If you're going to AWP 2012 in Chicago, come by the National Book Critics Circle's featured reading by National Book Critics Circle award honorees in...read »

January, 2012

Announcing the NBCC Nonfiction Finalists: Siddhartha Mukherjee

by Jane Ciabattari | Jan-24-2012

Thirty NBCC finalists were announced Saturday night at Artists Space in Soho after an all-day board meeting at which 25 NBCC board members cast their...read »

Chicago Tribune Brings Back Sunday Book Review

by Jane Ciabattari | Jan-24-2012

The Chicago Tribune is re-introducing its Sunday book review on February 26 as a 24-page stand-alone publication with reviews, interviews, and short...read »

NBCC/Bookforum conversation: Criticism Beside Itself

by Jane Ciabattari | Jan-21-2012

  Last night's critical conversation at the Center for Fiction, dubbed "Criticism Beside Itself,"ranged widely, from discussion of Russian formalists,...read »

Page 6 of 13 pages    ‹ First  < 4 5 6 7 8 >  Last ›

About the Critical Mass Blog

Commentary on literary criticism, publishing, writing, and all things NBCC related. It's written by independent members of the NBCC Board of Directors (see list of bloggers below).



Categories & Archives

Become a Friend of the NBCC

NBCC Awards

See all award winners

Find out how to submit

Read how we select

Frequently Asked Questions

Awards news

Videos and Podcasts

NBCC 2014 Awards Ceremony

Ben Fountain and Amy Tan at AWP with Jane Ciabattari

NBCC 2013 Finalists Reading

NBCC 2013 Awards Ceremony

NBCC Finalists Interviewed at The New School

Video: New Literary Journals

Video: The VIDA Count and Gender Bias in Book Reviewing

Podcast: What Is Criticism? NBCC Winners and Finalists at AWP

All videos and podcasts.

The postings on this blog represent the views and opinions of each individual poster and are not representative of views held by the National Book Critics Circle as an organization, or the NBCC board as a whole. Everything on this blog is copyright protected

Online Committee