January, 2010

Scott McLemee on the Caribbean Review of Books, the Crisis in Haiti, and the “Economy of Attention”

by Eric Banks | Jan-27-2010

At Inside Higher Ed, board member Scott McLemee recently interviewed the Trinidad-based Caribbean Review of Books editor Nicholas Laughlin about the CRB's...read »

December, 2009

Six Questions for Bethanne Patrick, Editor of The Book Studio

by Scott McLemee | Dec-10-2009

NBCC member Bethanne Patrick has, in her time, been an editor for PAGES magazine, a contributing editor at Publishers Weekly, and the book blogger for the...read »

November, 2009

Jonathan Lethem’s Fantasy Bookshop

by Jane Ciabattari | Nov-13-2009

Q. NBCC award winner Jonathan Lethem, whose new novel, Chronic City, is set in Manhattan, has set a small used bookstore in Maine, called Red Gap, with...read »

October, 2009

Q&A: Jürgen Fauth of Fictionaut

by Eric Banks | Oct-21-2009

Fictionaut describes itself as “bring[ing] the social web to literary fiction” Co-founded in 2008 by Jürgen Fauth, a writer, editor, film critic, and...read »

About the Critical Mass Blog

Commentary on literary criticism, publishing, writing, and all things NBCC related. It's written by independent members of the NBCC Board of Directors (see list of bloggers below).



Categories & Archives

Become a Friend of the NBCC

Awards Reception

Upcoming Events

NBCC at AWP18: March 09th, 2018

NBCC Finalists’ Reading: March 14th, 2018

NBCC Awards Ceremony and Reception: March 15th, 2018

NBCC Awards

Finalists for 2017

See all award winners

Find out how to submit

Read how we select

Frequently Asked Questions

Videos and Podcasts

NBCC 2016 Awards Ceremony

NBCC 2015 Finalists Reading

NBCC 2014 Awards Ceremony

NBCC 2013 Awards Ceremony

All videos and podcasts.

The postings on this blog represent the views and opinions of each individual poster and are not representative of views held by the National Book Critics Circle as an organization, or the NBCC board as a whole. Everything on this blog is copyright protected

Online Committee

Additional Contributors